Forestry Focus

Grant-aided Species


The Forest Service approves the following species for payment of grant aid under the afforestation (new planting) scheme. These species have been selected because they they are all capable of producing High Forest stands and have proven timber production potential.

Native species

Non-native species


Scots pine (Pinus sylvestris)* Sitka spruce           (Picea sitchensis)
Norway spruce       (Picea abies)
Serbian spruce       (Picea omorika)
Lodgepole pine       (Pinus contorta)
Austrian pine          (Pinus nigra)
Corsican pine         (Pinus nigra var. maritima)
Monterey  pine       (Pinus radiata)
Douglas fir              (Pseudotsuga menziesii)
European larch       (Larix europeaus)
Hybrid larch            ( Larix eurolepis)
Western hemlock    (Tsuga heterophylla)
Lawson cypress      (Chaemcyparis lawsoniana)
Leyland cypress      (X Cupressus Leylandia)
Coastal redwood     ( Sequoia sempervirens)
Western red cedar   (Thuja plicata)


Pedunculate oak  (Quercus robor) Beech                  (Fagus sylvatica)
Sessile oak         (Quercus petrea) Sycamore            (Acer pseudoplatanus)
Ash                  (Fraxinus excelsior) Spanish chestnut  (Castanea sativa)
Alder                   (Alnus glutinosa) Southern beech    (Nothofagus spp.)
Cherry                 ( Prunus avium) Lime                    (Tilia cordata)

* Considered to have died out but reintroduced and is now regarded as a native conifer

Other broadleaves not on the list can be planted in small groups in order to give colour and variety along road edges or where plantations are adjacent to dwelling houses.

Further information at: Afforestation Scheme


The Native Woodland Scheme (NWS) provides support for landowners in Ireland to protect and enhance existing native woodlands, and to establish new native woodlands.

Nature conservation and biodiversity are the main management objectives in these woodlands but timber production is possible on appropriate sites. Each project under the NWS must promote the native woodland type or types identified (based on soil, vegetation, elevation, etc.) as being the most appropriate for that particular site.

All planting and natural regeneration under the NWS is limited to species deemed native to the island of Ireland.

The list of approved species is as follows:

Overstorey and major species Understorey and minor species
Alder                    (Alnus glutinosa) Hazel                    (Corylus avellana)
Silver birch           (Betula pendula) Hawthorn             (Crataegus monogyna)
Downy birch         (Betula pubescens) Spindle-tree         (Euonymus europaeus)
Ash                       (Fraxinus excelsior) Holly                    (Ilex aquifolium)
Sessile oak           (Quercus petraea) Crab apple           (Malus sylvestris)
Pedunculate oak   (Quercus robur) Aspen                  (Populus tremula)
Scots pine            (Pinus sylvestris) Wild cherry         (Prunus avium)
Blackthorn, sloe  (Prunus spinosa)
Eared willow       (Salix aurita)
Goat willow        (Salix caprea)
Rusty willow       (Salix cinerea subspp. Oleifolia)
Elder                   (Sambucus nigra)
Rowan                 (Sorbus aucuparia)
Yew                    (Taxus baccata)
Guelder rose       (Viburnum opulus)

Further information at: Native Woodland Scheme